Home Draw Results News Gallery Rules & Timetable FAQ Contact Register for competition Home Draw Results News Gallery Rules & Timetable More Information Register for competition

2013 men's champions Horsley Lodge ladies team look for 2014 Finals place

Daily Mail
29 Jul 2014

HORSLEY LODGE was the club name that went on to the men’s trophy after the finals of the Daily Mail Foursomes last October.
Now the ladies of the Derbyshire club are doing their level best to match the feat of Dan Housley and Chris Drabble and etch their name on to the women’s trophy.
Sian Mansey and Janet Carlin have already won through five rounds, and they made it to the sixth round with a convincing 5&4 victory over Matlock’s Pam Hedley and Jill Smith.
Two more victories will see them into finals week, for the last 16 women’s pairings, at Marriott Dalmahoy this October.
Sian and Janet could yet face competition from two clubs who have already put their names on the women’s trophy in the last six years.
Sandiway won the trophy in 2010 when Dorothy Larmour and Isabelle Slater triumphed, and Carol Dodd and Julie Dunn took the Cheshire club into this year’s sixth round with a two-hole victory over Portal Premier’s Sue Orr and Marion Connor.
When the finals were played at Marriott Dalmahoy in 2008, the name of Northamptonshire County went on to the women’s trophy, courtesy of Kirstie Jennings and Kelly Hanwell. Now Sue Barrick and Stephanie Goodings have the chance to do the same after a two-hole victory at Abbotsley over Marilyn Williams and Helen Johnson in the fifth round.
Kirstie and Kelly shared the spotlight in 2008 with men’s champions Mark Hill and Tony Gooch, from Great Torrington, and there is still the chance the same clubs could triumph when the finals return to Edinburgh this year after Peter Andronik and Steve Baker, from the Devon club, beat Tiverton’s Colin Carey and Steve Buchanan 2&1 in round five.
For more stories and results, log on at www.mailgolf.co.uk
Daily Mail Foursomes
By Graham Marsden

Contact the Tournament Office at [email protected] or 020 7384 3757

© 2020 
DMG Media Ltd
Privacy Policy

Home | Register for Competition | Draw | Round Results | News | Gallery | Rules and Timetable | FAQ | Contact