Home Draw Results News Gallery Rules & Timetable FAQ Contact Register for competition Home Draw Results News Gallery Rules & Timetable More Information Register for competition

Moor Hall eye piece of history

Daily Mail
15 Oct 2012

SIMON CARTTER and Craig Sheerin will look to put the Moor Hall name on the men's trophy for the second time in six years at the Marriott Forest of Arden this week and create a first for the Daily Mail Foursomes in the process.
John Paul Banbury and Robert Bardsley won the trophy for their West Midlands club as recently as 2006. Banbury is looking to make a career in the professional ranks, winning the Midlands Tour Championship in September, when European Tour veteran Paul Broadhurst finished fifth.
Now Simon and Craig will look to cap the long journey to finals week at the Daily Mail Foursomes by taking another trophy on the short trip from the Marriott Forest of Arden to their Moor Hall club just 15 miles away.
However, they will have to look out for the challenge presented by Graham Bell, the five-time Angus matchplay and strokeplay champion, and Richard Scott, the Downfield pairing who won the Scottish Seniors Doubles this year.
No club has ever won the men's trophy twice with different pairings, although Woodhall Spa have done so in the women's event.
Sally Pool and Gill Winter will be looking to emulate the feat this week for East Herts, who won the trophy in 1982 through Valerie Tupman and Elsie Provan.
Moira Wilson, 63, was the champion as long ago as 1989 with Helen Dobson, who also went on to play professionally. Now Moira, who also made the last 16 in 2005, is back at finals week with Tara Massey and hoping to put the name of the Seacroft club in Skegness on the trophy for a second time.
However, the outstanding talent in the women’s last 16 has to be Truro’s Sarah-Jane Boyd, who won the British Open amateur title in Belfast in August to add to the Cornwall and South-West England titles she won earlier in the year.
Andy Hills, who represents Middlesex club Harefield Place with Peter Smith, reached the quarter-finals in 2007, while Karen Ashcroft and Cathy Downey, from Slinfold in Sussex, missed out on a place in the final by one shot last year.
The round of 16 and quarter-finals will be played today at the Marriott Forest of Arden, which has hosted European Tour events like the British Masters and English Open, while the semi-finals and finals will be played tomorrow.
LAST 16 - 8.0: Hanging Heaton (Paul and Joe Ratcliffe, combined handicap 20) v Moor Hall (Simon Cartter, Craig Sheerin, 17). 8.08: Cambridge Meridian (Andrew Breacker, Harry Tteralli, 13) v Forest of Dean (Martyn Walker, Paul Williams, 5). 8.16: Arcot Hall (Kevin Henderson, Andrew Cunningham, 12) v Atherstone (Glyn Day, Dean Smith, 16). 8.24: Padeswood & Buckley (Tim Roberts, Mike Pickford, 10) v Silecroft (Peter Fry, Joel Barker, 27). 8.32: Christchurch (Christian Williams, Martyn Jones, 21) v Halifax West End (John Healey, Roger Greenwood, 29). 8.40: Lamberhurst (Denis Cole, Peter Pike, 30) v Downfield (Graham Bell, Richard Scott, 6). 8.48: Treloy (Richard Hamilton, Neil Childs, 12) v Goodwood (Robin Smith, Christopher Dyson, 21). 8.56: Stirling (Kenny Stewart, James Todd, 9) v Harefield Place (Andy Hills, Peter Smith, 12).
LAST 16 - 8.0: Bolton (Tessa Booth, Diana Arkwright, 31) v Slinfold (Karen Ashcroft, Cathy Downey, 25). 8.08: Royal Tarlair (Rae Topping, Priscilla Smart, 40) v Tenby (Isabel Kent, Ruth Goldwait, 41). 8.16: Sundridge Park (Janet Alldread, Liz Gray, 20) v Seacroft (Moira Wilson, Tara Massey, 38). 8.24: Truro (Nathalie John, Sarah-Jane Boyd, 7) v Burley (Jane Harfield, Chrissie Roper, 35). 8.32: Caernafon (Luned Jones, Sandra Garnett, 30) v Newton Stewart (Patricia Magill, Helena Fox, 22). 8.40: Tytherington (Carole Ryder, Gill Singh, 20) v Reading (Tracy Crew, Charlotte Keenan, 16). 8.48: Naunton Downs (Mandy Tye, Linda Godfrey, 36) v Dunfermline (Sam Burton, Sarah Govan, 32). 8.56: Stocksbridge & District (Liana and Hilja O’Sullivan, 25) v East Herts (Sally Pool, Gill Winter, 28).

Contact the Tournament Office at [email protected] or 020 7384 3757

© 2020 
DMG Media Ltd
Privacy Policy

Home | Register for Competition | Draw | Round Results | News | Gallery | Rules and Timetable | FAQ | Contact